Paint It Black- “Amnesia” and “Surrender”

Paint It Black are a Philadelphia melodic hardcore outfit fronted by Dan Yemin, guitarist for seminal pop punk/hardcore bands Lifetime and Kid Dynamite. After the release of their third full length record, New Lexicon, on Delaware record label Jade Tree in 2008, the band vowed to return to the seven inch EP as their main form of musical output. The band stated that “[we] can’t think of a single hardcore punk band that has released more than three awesome full-length records, and we’re not nearly arrogant enough to imagine that we’ll be the first band to make that happen”.

Since then, Paint It Black have released two seven inch EP’s, ‘Amnesia’, released on Bridge Nine Records on June 30, and ‘Surrender’, which was released today, on Fat Wreck Chords.

These two records, which were recorded at Godcity Studios with Boston recording guru/Converge guitarist Kurt Ballou, capture the fire and energy of Paint It Black’s exhilarating live show, combining pummeling drums sounds, thick bass tones and aggressive guitar tones with Yemin’s furious yet poignant vocal stylings.

Both releases have been vinyl-only, accompanied with a digital download code, and can be purchased from their respective record labels, at, and

Download both albums here:


About this entry